News archive

please select ...

June 2013

Chairman Guy Van Habberney with Roger Klittich - KWA meeting on Friday afternoon
Chairman Guy Van Habberney with Roger Klittich - KWA meeting on Friday afternoon

Several KWA members attended the Brunswick event on last Friday (21/06/2013), i.e. Michael Negele’s lecture on blindfold chess, as well as the chess auction on Saturday – it was the 64th (! – a magic chess number) auction of the house Klittich-Pfankuch. A pictorial report will still follow, here are the first photos provided by Michael Negele.

Vlastimil Hort and Michael Negele during the lecture
Vlastimil Hort and Michael Negele during the lecture

Once again Michael Negele was on a chess tour last week: he visited the ČEZ Chess Trophy 2013 in Prague (match David Navara vs Yifan Hou) and gave a lecture there on the history of blindfold chess.

A just released problem book by Michael Schlosser and Martin Minski stands in the tradition of T.R. Dawson’s and W. Pauly’s classic Asymmetry (A.C. White’s Christmas Series, 1927). Their work ASymmetrie contains a stupendous wealth of problems from all genres composed in the last ca 170 years, the earliest dating from 1841.

Read a short review in our column New Chess Literature.

Moreover our Italian member Marco Campioli has given a lecture on endgame studies to the players of the Club 64 (Chess club of Modena), for some photographs have a look at this gallery.

PS (07/06/2013): Due to losing his interest in chess, our English member Steve Giddins has decided not to rejoin the KWA, so I have deleted him from our lists. (R.B.)