"Lasker Evening" at Wolfenbüttel

Presentation of the Lasker Monograph
at the Duke August Library


A considerable number of authors, members and visitors gathered on Friday evening, 20 November, in the Duke August Library to witness the presentation of the new Lasker monograph and naturally to get a numbered + signed copy of this exceptional work.

15 authors were present (Wolfgang Angerstein, Tony Gillam, Peter de Jong, Viktor Kortschnoi, Tomasz Lissowski, Egbert Meissenburg, Susanna Poldauf, Toni Preziuso, Joachim Rosenthal, Raj Tischbierek, Robert van de Velde und Hans-Christian Wohlfarth) - the three editors (Richard Forster, Stefan Hansen, Michael Negele) included - as well as Ulrich Dirr and the ELG board with Paul Werner Wagner, Thomas Weischede and Thomas Thomsen.

Quite a lot of KWA members joined them: the four Danes Claes L
øfgren, Per Skjoldager, Knud Lysdal and Jørn Erik Nielsen; Calle Erlandsson and Gunnar Finnlaugsson from Sweden; the Belgians Guy Van Habberney and Henri Serruys as well as Jurgen Stigter from the Netherlands; from Germany Günter Büsing, Bernd Ellinghoven, Matias Jolowicz, Hans-Jürgen Fresen, Matthias Limberg, Andreas Saremba, Bernd Schneider and Bernd Segebarth. (At the chess book auction on Saturday also Godehard Murkisch, Wolfgang Pähtz and Bernd Schippan were spotted.)

Part of the supporting programme was a prior guided tour of the library (for registered participants) as well as an online game against the strongest German female player, WGM Elisabeth Pähtz, partly played parallel to the book-signing of the authors and editors.

In the following a selection of photos is offered on this completely successful event, just as on the subsequent official dinner in the restaurant Ratskeller where many comrades took part.

At the guided tour of the Duke August Library: Bernd Schneider
and Dr. Daniel Eisermann from Berlin, one of our main proofreaders.

The presentation has started: Stefan Hansen (left) with the hefty work,
next to him Paul Werner Wagner and (sitting) our host Prof. Helwig Schmidt-Glintzer.


The impressive library provided the appropriate setting for this event.

Sitting in the first row:
Prof. Wolfgang Angerstein and Marion Oeben-Negele.


Stefan Hansen and Prof. Helwig Schmidt-Glintzer, we already
know the latter from the KWA foundation ceremony 2003 at the same place.

Michael Negele at the lectern,
for him there was still a little surprise in store ...


... as for his great contribution to the Lasker monograph
DSB vice president Michael S. Langer (left) presented
to him the plate of honour of the German Chess Federation.
Applause and congratulations for this distinction!

Swiss by themselves:
Richard Forster with Viktor and Petra Kortschnoi.



top of page